Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

Sign In

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ 

​​​​School Governance Councils

School Governance Councils are an integral component of Fulton's charter system. 

School Governance Councils, or SGCs, are responsible for setting and monitoring

the strategic direction of the schools.

Powers & Responsibilities

The responsibilities of SGCs are as follows:

  • Approve the school's Strategic Plan
  • Approve the school's budget recommendations
  • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
  • Participate in the hiring process when hiring a new principal
  • Provide feedback on the principal's performance

........................................................................................................................................

Membership

The SGC has 9 voting members:​

  • 3 parents/guardians (elected by parents/guardians of the school)
  • ​2 teachers (elected by school employees)
  • 2 community members (nominated by the principal, approved by the SGC)
  • 2 school employees (appointed by the principal)

The principal serves on all SGCs as a non-voting member. This makes a total of 10

SGC members. 

Public Meetings

All SGC meetings are open to the public per Georgia's Open Meetings Act and agendas

and minutes are to be posted per Georgia's Open Records Act. Members of the public

do not participate in SGC meetings but may provide comment through designated

​public comment periods or in written form(email/letter) to members.​

 

__________________________________________

​Council Members

2017-2108 Birmingham Falls Elementary SGC Members

 

NameEmail AddressPositionTerm Ends

​Don Webb

Principal

Webbd@fultonschools.org​Principal​N/A
Phillip Daniels
Budget Committee Member
Prinicipal Selection Committee Member
Danielsp1@fultonschools.org​Parent/
Guardian
6/30/2019
Jessica Baker
Budget Committee Member
Principal Selection Committee Member
​Bakerj5@fultonschools.orgParent/
Guardian
6/30/2019
Tina Marie Baldwin
Council Vice Chairman
Outreach Committee Member
BaldwinT3@fultonschools.org​​Parent/
Guardian
6/30/2018
Tresa Cheatham
Budget Committee Member
Cheatham@fultonschools.org​Staff/
Faculty
6/30/2019
​Shannon Hanrahan
Outreach Committee Member
Hanrahans@fultonschools.org​Staff/
Faculty
6/30/2018
​Traci Newton
 Parliamentarian
Outreach Committee Member
Principal Selection Committee Member
​NewtonT@fultonschools.org

​Teacher

6/30/2018
​Mike Dykes
Council Chairman
Budget Committee Member
Principal Selection Committee Member
​Dykes@fultonschools.org

​Teacher

6/30/2019
​Michelle Vientos
Outreach Committee Chairman
Vientos@fultonschools.org

Community

6/30/2019
​Travis Kassay
​Budget Committee Chairman
Kassay@fultonschools.org​​Community6/30/2018


 

Meeting Dates:

2017-2018 Meetings will be held from 7:10am to approximately 8:30am on the following dates:

September 25, 2017

November 6, 2017

November 27, 2017

December 11​, 2017

January 29, 2018

February 26, 2018

March 26, 2018

May 7​, 2018

  
expand Meeting Date : 11/27/2017 ‎(1)
expand Meeting Date : 11/6/2017 ‎(2)
expand Meeting Date : 9/25/2017 ‎(3)
expand Meeting Date : 8/23/2017 ‎(3)
expand Meeting Date :  ‎(2)
  
collapse School Year : 2016-2017 ‎(29)
collapse School Year : 2015-2016 ‎(30)
collapse School Year : 2014-2015 ‎(12)
collapse School Year :  ‎(2)
social media imagesocial media image
14865 Birmingham Highway, Milton, GA 30004, Phone: 470-254-2820, Fax: 470-254-2806
© 2017 Fulton County Schools