Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

Sign In

School Governance Council


The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including: 

  • Create and approve the school's Strategic Plan
  • Approve the school's budget recommendations
  • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
  • Participate in the hiring process when hiring a new principal
  • Provide feedback on the principal's performance

The 10 member School Governance Council is made up of 9 voting members which includes parents, community members, and faculty, and 1 non-voting member, the principal. Members are voted or appointed to their positions.







Cogburn Woods Elementary School will be electing one parent representatives and one teacher to serve on the School Governance Council at the end of March.  Our School Governance Council, (SGC), has a leadership role in the governance of the school.  The Council works with the principal on the long-term vision and strategy for the school.  They are responsible for approving the school's strategic plan and budget recommendations, as well as designing innovative solutions to increase academic achievement and meet the unique needs of our school community.

Elections for the parent/guardian and teacher positions on the SGC will be held March 19th – 23rd. Parents and staff will receive an email with a link to vote.

2018 SGC candidate statements.

Eligibility Requirements for All Council Members

· May only serve on 1 School Governance Council at a time

· May NOT be an elected official of a government entity

· Must be the ONLY member of their family serving on the Council

· Must be 18 years of age or older (with the exception of high school student members)


· Must have a child enrolled at the school for the duration of the term they declare candidacy for

· May NOT be an employee of the school



· May NOT be the parent of a child enrolled at the school

· Must be a school-based employee with a "home school"

· Must be paid from teacher salary schedule

School Employees

· MAY be the parent of a child enrolled at the school

· Must be a school-based employee with a "home school"


Community Members

· MAY be the parent of a child enrolled at the school

· May NOT be an employee of the school






​2018-2019 Cogburn Woods Elementary SGC Members

​Name​Email​Position/Term​Term Expires
​Lisa Garosi, PrincipalGarosi@fultonschools.org ​Principal​N/A
Travis Allen, Chair​AllenT4@fultonschools.org​2-yr Parent Rep.​2019
Danah Dennis, Vice ChairDennisD@fultonschools.org​2-yr Parent Rep.​2020
​Cynthia Henry, Parliamentarian​HenryCY@fultonschools.org​2-yr Teacher Rep.​2019
​Brooke Scharfstein, Budget & Finance​Scharfstein@fultonschools.org​2-yr School Employee​2019
​Matthwew Stucke, Communications & Outreach​​StuckeM@fultonschools.org​2-yr Parent Rep.​2019
Jennifer BedenkBedenk@fultonschools.org​2-yr School Employee​2020
​Mike Cianciolo​Cianciolom@fultonschools.org​2-yr Teacher Rep.​2020
​Lindsay Johnsonjohnsonl11@fultonschools.org


​2-Year Community Rep.​2020
​Sangeetha Sriganesha


​2-Year Community Rep.​2019


Meeting Dates and Locations

All meetings will take place at
Cogburn Woods Elementary.

Monday  January 14, 2019         2:45

Monday  February 11, 2019       2:45

Monday  March 18, 2019           2:45

Monday  May 13, 2019              2:45

expand Meeting Date : 11/26/2018 ‎(2)
expand Meeting Date : 10/15/2018 ‎(3)
expand Meeting Date : 9/17/2018 ‎(3)
expand Meeting Date : 8/20/2018 ‎(3)
collapse School Year : 2017-2018 ‎(27)
collapse School Year : 2016-2017 ‎(35)
collapse School Year : 2015-2016 ‎(17)
collapse School Year : 2014-2015 ‎(10)
© 2019 Fulton County Schools