Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

Sign In

​​​​​​School Governance Council Candidates

Overview

The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

a) Approve the school strategic plan and updates
b) Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
c) Manage the Request for Flexibility process
d) Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
e) Provide annual feedback on principal performance

Charter System
Now that Fulton County Schools became a Charter System in July 2012, each school has more local decision-making authority and the flexibility to im​plement strategic, personalized educational strategies that meet the needs of their students.

Each Charter System school will have a School Governance Council (SGC) that will play a critical role in its success.

 

Please contact council members below, with questions:​​

Member Name​Member Email​Role​Term
​Corey Debrodydebrody@fultonschools.org​Elected Parent MemberTerm ends June 2019
​Lawanda EstesestesL1@fultonschools.org

Appointed Staff Member
Parliamentarian​
Term ends June 2019

Camie Christensen
christensenc@fultonschools.org

Elected Parent Member, Council Chair

​Term ends June 2020
​Melody Johnson​johnsonm15@fultonschools.org​​Elected Teacher Member
Outreach and Communications Chair
Term ends June 2019
Meghna Ghandi
 gandhi@fultonschools.org​Community Member,  Finance Committee Chair​Term ends June 2020
​Michelle Kahowai

kahoiwai@fultonschools.org

​Community Member,
Superintendent's Community Member Council
Term ends June 2019
​Amy Lemons​lemonsa@fultonschools.org     Principal​Term does not end​
Rebekah McGowan mcgowanr@fultsonschools.org

Elected Teacher Member

​Term ends 2020
Stephanie Haga
 haga@fultonschools.orgAppointed Staff
Assistant Principal Council Vice Chair
Term ends 2020
Yolane Terblancheterblanche@fultonschools.org Parent MemberTerm ends June 2019​
 
​Budget and Finance​Meghna Ghandi - chair​Amy Lemons
​Outreach and Communication​Melody Johnson - chair

​Christinia McLeod

Rebekah McGowan

Corey Debrody
​Principal Selection​Camie Christensen

​Lawanda Estes

Melody Johnson

​Yolane Terblanche

Michelle Kahoiwai

© 2018 Fulton County Schools