Fulton County Schools
You are leaving the Fulton County Schools website. Please select continue to proceed to the requested page or you may close this window to stay on the current page.

Sign In

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​New SGC Image 17-18.JPG

​​​School Governance Council​​

The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of  Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

  • Approving the school strategic plan and updates 
  • Approving the annual budget and annual resource allocations
  • Managing the Request for Flexibility process 
  • Participating in hiring the principal (in case of a vacancy)
  • Providing annual feedback on principal performance​
Council Members

​​NAMEEMAIL ADDRESSPOSITIONTERM
​Tim Duncanduncant@fultonschools.org​​PrincipalN/A​
​Margaret Garthgarthm@fultonschools.org​SGC Chair​17-19 Teacher Elected
​​Maria Sorianosanario@fultonschools.org​​SGC Vice Chair​​​17-19 Parent Elected
​Ben Salbasalbab@fultonschools.org​​​SGC Parliamentarian​17-19 Staff Appointed
​Matt Sharpsharpmb@fultonschools.org​
18-20​ Teacher Elected​
Deborah Blountblountd@fultonschools.org
​17-19 Staff Appointed 
​Michelle Levine​levinem1@fultonschools.org​​18-20 Parent Elected
Anna Chung​N/A​18-19 Student Representative
​​​Abby Swiger​N/A​18-19 Student Representative

2016-2017 Requests for Flexibility

1. Professional Development Days/Early Release RFF  ​Approved​

2015-2016 Requests for Flexibility

​1. Personal Fitness Waiver RFF  Approved  

2014-2015 Requests for Flexibility

1. Internship Waiver RFF  Approved  

2. College Style Class RFF  Approved  

3. Seat Time RFF​  Approved  

2018-2019 Council Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Summaries
2017-2018 Council Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Summaries
2016-2017 Council Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Summaries
2015-2016 Council Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Summaries
2014-2015 Council Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Summaries  

School Governance Council Resources

SGC Handbook                                                                

Cohort Two Implementation Guide  

FAQs Regarding Requests For Flexibility  

Chattahoochee Strategic Plan​

© 2018 Fulton County Schools